• Share this

RME sponsors International Producer of the Year Award at the MPG Awards 2019

14th March 2019 11:23 am

RME-Logo - Synthax Audio UKRME at the MPG Awards 2019 - Martin Warr - 01 - Synthax Audio UK

The Music Producer’s Guild Awards 2019 was held at the Grosvenor Hotel in London on 28th February 2019.

Recording professionals from throughout the music industry gathered at the Grosvenor Hotel on Thursday 28th February for the 11th annual MPG Awards.

Honouring the talented engineers and music producers behind some of the most popular records of the past year, the MPGs acknowledges the hard work of those who operate mainly behind the scenes, with categories such as UK Producer Of The Year, Recording Engineer Of The Year, Mix Engineer Of The Year and Studio Of The Year.

RME has sponsored a variety of MPG awards over the years, this time getting behind the International Producer Of The Year award, which was won by the Grammy award-winning Greg Kurstin (Adele, Beck, Foo Fighters, Liam Gallagher, Lily Allen, Pink, Paul McCartney).

Greg wasn’t available on the night – instead, a video was played of him receiving his MPG from the Foo Fighter’s Dave Grohl (see below), whose album Concrete and Gold was produced by Kurstin.

Over 350 people attended the ceremony, with notable speakers and guest presenters including Peter Gabriel, Damon Albarn and Jarvis Cocker, as well as a performance by James Dean Bradfield of The Manic Street Preachers.

Female engineers and producers also continued to be better represented for the second year running, with a quarter of the accolades won by women, including Mastering Engineer Of The Year (Mandy Parnell) and Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year (Dani Bennett Spragg) – scroll down for the full list of winners.

RME at the MPG Awards 2019 - Mandy Parnell - Jarvis Cocker - Synthax Audio UK

RME at the MPG Awards 2019 - Peter Gabriel - Synthax Audio UK

RME at the MPG Awards 2019 - James Dean Bradfield - Synthax Audio UK


 The full list of 2019 MPG Award winners and sponsors are as follows:

UK Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Flare Audio;

  • James Ford

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve;

  • Matt Wiggins

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Miloco Studios;

  • David Wrench

Re-mixer Of The Year, sponsored by Synchro Arts;

  • Shura

Breakthrough Producer Of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite;

  • Dilip Harris

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio;

  • Jon Hopkins

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec;

  • Dani Bennett Spragg

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by RME;

  • Greg Kurstin

Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Kii Audio;

  • Mandy Parnell

UK Album Of The Year, sponsored by Universal Audio;

  • Everything Everything: A Fever Dream

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure;

  • Anna Calvi: Don’t Beat The Girl Out Of My Boy

The A&R Award, sponsored by DAFT Studios;

  • Gilles Peterson

Studio Of The Year, sponsored by Soundgas;

  • Strongroom

MPG Inspiration Award, sponsored by Audio Note;

  • Skepta

MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music, sponsored by PPL;

  • Hugh Padgham

Special Recognition Award, sponsored by Steinberg;

  • The Ward Family and Rockfield Studios.


Big thanks to the Music Producers Guild for putting on another great event, and for the continuing hard work the organisation does in providing a range of support for audio professionals.

If you’re a musician, engineer or producer and would like to join the MPG, visit mpg.ork.uk for more info on the benefits of becoming a member, which includes discounts on gear, legal advice for audio professionals, and access to various networking events.

Find out more about RME Audio


RME-Logo - Synthax Audio UKIf you’d like to know more about any of RME’s pro audio products, give us a call on 01727 821 870 to speak to one of our team or to arrange a demo.
You can also contact us here.